Shame – Songs of Praise

Comprised of vocalist Charlie Steen, guitarists Sean Coyle-Smith and Eddie Green, bassist John Finerty, and drummer Charlie Forbes, the London-based five-piece began as school boys. From the outset, Shame built the band up from a foundation of DIY ethos while citing The Fall and Wire among its biggest musical influences. Utilizing both the grit and sincerity of that musical background, Shame carved out a niche in the South London music scene and then barreled fearlessly into the angular, thrashing post-punk that would go on to make up Songs of Praise, their Dead Oceans debut. From Gold Hole, a tongue-in-cheek takedown of rock narcissism, to lead single Concrete detailing the overwhelming moment of realizing a relationship is doomed, to the frustrated Tasteless taking aim at the monotony of people droning through their day-to- day, Songs of Praise never pauses to catch its breath. For fans of The Chameleons, Early U2, Happy Mondays, Echo and the Bunnymen and Alternative TV.

In stock



A1 Dust On Trial
A2 Concrete
A3 One Rizla
A4 The Lick
A5 Tasteless
B1 Donk
B2 Gold Hole
B3 Friction
B4 Lampoon
B5 Angie

Additional information




Songs of Praise

Format name

LP col


Dead Oceans

Catalog number





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Shame – Songs of Praise”