Snapped Ankles - Come Play The Trees

Snapped Ankles - Come Play The Trees

  • £17.00

When the city starts to encroach on the forest, nature will find a way to reclaim what is rightfully hers. Snapped Ankles come as messengers. On debut album Come Play The Trees they hold a mirror up to us. They’re here to plant the seed. They’re here to have a good time, but never at the expense of their natural habitat. Snapped Ankles have emerged from the woods clutching an album that feels simultaneously modern and ancient. This is what dance music will sounds like when computers finally fail us. Log synths, bass guitar and sticks on taut animal skin coalesce to form fearsome primal rhythms. Fuzz guitars rubbing up against dirty rolling arpeggiated synthesisers to ignite wild white noise fires. Forest folklore passed down through generations, has made its way onto the tracks. Subjects veer from dystopian futures to railing against Swedish flat-pack furniture, from the films of Jean-Luc Godard and Andrei Tarkovsky to throwaway YouTube comments. High art and cultural detritus are all fair game – a brave new world indeed. For fans of Holy Fuck, Moonlandingz and Goat.


A1 Come Play The Trees
A2 Hanging With The Moon
A3 I Want My Minutes Back
A4 Jonny Guitar Calling Gosta Berlin
B1 Let's Revel
B2 Tuesday Makes Me Cry
B3 The Invisible Real That Hurts
B4 True Ecology
B5 Come Play The Trees [Outro]

Come Play The Trees by Snapped Ankles