The Clientele - Music For The Age

The Clientele - Music For The Age

  • £40.00


The Clientele return with Music for the Age of Miracles, their first release of new music since 2010’s Minotaur EP and their first album on Tapete Records. After The Clientele released Minotaur, Alasdair MacLean, singer and principal songwriter for the band, made two wonderful albums with Lupe Núñez-Fernández as Amor de Días, issued a Clientele best-of called Alone and Unreal, oversaw reissues of Suburban Light and Strange Geometry, and played shows solo or as part of Amor de Días or The Clientele. He and Lupe have also been raising a family, so the prospect of a new Clientele record seemed to be diminishing. It seems fitting, then, that a chance meeting with a ghost from the past / future is what led to Music for the Age of Miracles, the first album of new Clientele songs in seven years. There’s something rapturous about the ways in which tracks on side one such as Falling Asleep (featuring the Santoor) and the exquisite Everything You See Tonight Is Different From Itself stretch out in choral harmony and rhythmic syncopation. Leon Beckenham’s trumpet solo on the latter is a highlight of the record, as is the way the words “ballerina, breathe” reappear at the three-minute mark. Similarly, Keen’s beautifully evocative interludes Lyra in April, Lyra in October, and North Circular Days, the last of these featuring a recording of the wind captured outside the late filmmaker Derek Jarman’s house in Dungeness on the Kent coast, mean this album sounds subtly but significantly different from previous ones. Birth, rebirth, the ghost in the trees, something on the edge of sight, the faces we love, childhood, parenthood, the dance of our days; music for the age of miracles, indeed.


A1 The Neighbor
A2 Lyra In April
A3 Lunar Days
A4 Falling Asleep
A5 Everything You See Tonight Is Different From Itself
B1 Lyra In October
B2 Everyone You Meet
B3 The Circus
B4 Constellations Echo Lanes
B5 The Museum Of Fog
B6 North Circular Days
B7 The Age Of Miracles