Sea and Cake, the - Nassau

The Sea And Cake - Nassau

  • £22.00

Repressed on vinyl. Half a year after its fine self-titled debut, the sea and cake released Nassau. The album is a bit more muscular – the drums (played by Tortoise's John Mcentire) – are actually pummeled this time out. But the overall effect is still one of gentle hypnotism. The Cantina roars along with background chorus vocals, explosive organ and drum parts, and compelling (but difficult to decipher) vocals. Soft and Sleep may be the band's finest moment yet. Beautifully chiming guitars delineate just a few chords, but the Sea and Cake builds on top of this with gorgeous harmonics, leader Sam Prekop's singing, and the subtle tensions of fully-interlocking ensemble playing. Nassau was self-recorded, but this is no dashed off lo-fi project. These musicians know what they're doing, what they want, and how to achieve it. This is a great example of a follow-up record bettering an already impressive first album.


A1 Nature Boy
A2 Parasol
A3 A Man Who Never Sees A Pretty Girl That He Doesn't Love Her A Little
B1 The World Is Against You
B2 Lamonts Lament
C1 Soft And Sleep
C2 The Cantina
C3 Earth Star
D1 Alone, For The Moment
D2 I Will Hold The Tea Bag