Toy - Happy in the Hollow (Dinked edition)

  • £22.99

Dinked Edition (No.4)
Pressed on Transparent Vinyl
Exclusive alternative light artwork
Includes a bonus 7" single with two secret tracks.
Hand Numbered
Limited to 700 copies to Dinked Shops only

Toy have announced details of their new album Happy In The Hollow and we're delighted to have secured a special Dinked Edition.

Their fourth album, and their first for new label Tough Love Records, it’s unquestionably their most direct and propulsive album to date.

Happy In The Hollow is entirely uncompromising: an atmospheric capturing of a state of mind that touches on Post Punk, electronic dissonance, acid folk and Krautrock. Familiar qualities like metronomic rhythms, warping guitars, undulating synths and Tom’s gentle, reedy vocals are all in there, but so is a greater emphasis on melody, a wider scope, and a combining of the reassuring and the sinister that is as unnerving as it is captivating.' The sound has without doubt expanded — and grown more confident — in part because this is the first album for which Toy has become a self-sufficient five-person unit doing everything for themselves. “Each song was a blank canvas,” says Maxim. “Producers inevitably develop their own patterns over time, right down to certain drum sounds. We were starting from scratch and it felt very creative as a result. It’s an album we feel deeply connected to”.

Finally, having recently played a packed-out show at the Shacklewell Arms in London, where they premiered a number of the new album tracks, the band have announced a run of headline shows in the new year.

Since 2010, Toy have earned a reputation as a band of integrity, virtuosity and taste, with Tom, Maxim, Dominic, Charlie and (joining in 2015) Max creating a sound that is embedded in the underground tradition, yet distinctly their own. Since their inception, they have released the acclaimed albums Toy (2012), Join The Dots (2013) and Clear Shot (2016), and toured everywhere from Serbia to China.

1 Sequence One
2 Mistake A Stranger
3 Energy
4 Last Warmth Of The Day
5 The Willo
6 Jolt Awake
7 Mechanism
8 Strangulation Day
9 You Make Me Forget Myself
10 Charlie’s House
11 Move Through The Dark

**Please note this record is available at a special pre-order price and will revert to full cost upon its release**