William Tyler - Deseret Canyon

William Tyler - Deseret Canyon

  • £23.00

William Tyler released Deseret Canyon on limited-edition double-LP available exclusively at your local record store in celebration of Record Store Day. The double-LP is available now in the Merge store.

Deseret Canyon was the first collection of largely solo guitar-based composition by William Tyler. Originally released in 2008 by German imprint Apparent Extent under the moniker The Paper Hats, it is now being reissued under Tyler’s own name. The album is imbued with immense meditative space in comparison to Tyler’s more recent work, such as 2013’s widely acclaimed Impossible Truth.

Largely played by Tyler himself, Deseret Canyon includes guest appearances from Lambchop’s Paul Niehaus and Ryan Norris as well as engineering work by Mark Nevers and Joe Pisapia, both of whom would later collaborate with Tyler on Impossible Truth and Lost Colony, respectively.


A1 Man Of Oran
B1 Parliament Of Birds
B2 The Green Cigar Kept Smiling
C1 The Sleeping Prophet
C2 Hermit Kingdom
D1 Waltz Of The Circassian Beauties
D2 Crystal Palace, Sea Of Glass